The Magnolia Story

This eBook includes the full text of the book plus

You are here: Home - Books - The Scent Keeper: A Novel


The Scent Keeper: A Novel

The Scent Keeper: A Novel By Erica Bauermeister The Scent Keeper A Novel Erica Bauermeister the national bestselling author of The School of Essential Ingredients presents a moving and evocative coming of age novel about childhood stories families lost and found

  • Title: The Scent Keeper: A Novel
  • Author: Erica Bauermeister
  • ISBN: 125020013
  • Page: 469
  • Format: Hardcover
  • The Scent Keeper: A Novel By Erica Bauermeister Erica Bauermeister, the national bestselling author of The School of Essential Ingredients, presents a moving and evocative coming of age novel about childhood stories, families lost and found, and how a fragrance conjures memories capable of shaping the course of our lives Emmeline lives an enchanted childhood on a remote island with her father, who teaches her about the Erica Bauermeister, the national bestselling author of The School of Essential Ingredients, presents a moving and evocative coming of age novel about childhood stories, families lost and found, and how a fragrance conjures memories capable of shaping the course of our lives Emmeline lives an enchanted childhood on a remote island with her father, who teaches her about the natural world through her senses What he won t explain are the mysterious scents stored in the drawers that line the walls of their cabin, or the origin of the machine that creates them As Emmeline grows, however, so too does her curiosity, until one day the unforeseen happens, and Emmeline is vaulted out into the real world a place of love, betrayal, ambition, and revenge To understand her past, Emmeline must unlock the clues to her identity, a quest that challenges the limits of her heart and imagination.Lyrical and immersive, The Scent Keeper explores the provocative beauty of scent, the way it can reveal hidden truths, lead us to the person we seek, and even help us find our way back home Get A Copy Kindle Store StoresAudibleBarnes NobleWalmart eBooksApple BooksGoogle PlayAbebooksBook DepositoryIndigoAlibrisBetter World BooksIndieBoundLibraries Or buy for Hardcover, 320 pages Expected publication May 21st 2019 by St Martin s Press More Details ISBN 125020013X ISBN13 9781250200136 Edition Language English
    The Scent Keeper: A Novel By Erica Bauermeister

    The Scent Keeper A Novel Bauermeister, Erica Lyrical and immersive, The Scent Keeper explores the provocative beauty of scent, the way it can reveal hidden truths, lead us to the person we seek, and even help us find our way back home. The Scent Keeper by Erica Bauermeister Erica Bauermeister, the national bestselling author of The School of Essential Ingredients, presents a moving and evocative coming of age novel about childhood stories, families lost and found, and how a fragrance conjures memories capable of shaping the course of our lives. The Scent Keeper A Novel Bauermeister, Erica Captivating and emotional, The Scent Keeper explores the provocative beauty of scent, the way it can reveal hidden truths, lead us to the person we seek, and even help us find our way back home. The Scent Keeper A Novel Kindle edition by Bauermeister Each bottle contains a slip of paper with a specific scent on it maybe spruce wood or lavender The bottles can t be opened often, lest the scent escape, but from a young age, Emmeline understands that her father will do anything to preserve all the smells trapped inside.

    • Free Read The Scent Keeper: A Novel - by Erica Bauermeister
      469 Erica Bauermeister

    One thought on “The Scent Keeper: A Novel

    1. Pam on said:

      Thank you NetGalley and St Martin s Press for a digital ARC Put this on your May TBR Fans of Where The Crawdads Sing and The Great Alone will especially like this one But while a coming of age story where a child lives alone in remote land this one with her father , this is a uniquely original story The writing is beautiful and vivid I didn t want this one to end.

    2. Ellen on said:

      Emmeline lives on an isolated island in British Columbia with her father, as both of them focus on the scents of the natural world around them After a series of events forces Emmeline off the island, she seeks the truth about how she ended up there and who her family really is While adjusting to a new way of life, Emmeline meets Fisher, a relationship that impacts her choices Well written with a unique story line.

    3. Mary on said:

      I have been waiting forever for a new book by Erica Bauermeister This book was definitely worth the wait As her previous books weave magical realism with food, this one does with scents Memories, longings, emotions Beauermeister is a wonderful writer, her stories are lush and imaginative My heart was broken through much of it, the story was just sad and sweet and lovely Thank you NetGalley for the ARC I loved it.

    4. Donna Hines on said:

      Natural world versus spectacular scents which will entice the human mind, heart, and soul Well for Emmeline she has been taken under the wing of her father to learn all there is about the scents, their creation, their importance to her life.Until she s left out in the world alone to uncover the truths for herself.Now she faces an uphill battle and she uncovers her true identity and that of the world she s come to love.Can these scents help her uncover the life that s worth havingThank you to Nat [...]

    5. Lisa on said:

      This starts off a bit slow but as Emmeline s world changes, the plot picks up Who is she and where does she come from As she slowly untangles all the mysteries, she learns about herself and her unique talent for scents This is a book about the senses, where Bauermeister s penchant for magical realism makes a welcome appearance The ending is disappointingly abrupt.3.5 stars.Thank you to St Martin s Press and NetGalley for the ARC.

    6. Paula Pugh on said:

      I thoroughly enjoyed The Scent Keeper I was glued to the novel through the hard and sensitive introductory chapters, to the middle growing pains of love and reality, and into the realization filled last chapters It is a novel filled with a young girl s growing, learning, collapsing and coming to terms with the realities of her entire life.

    7. Kim on said:

      A fully engrossing read that I couldn t put down Fell asleep reading this late at night then woke up in the morning and read nonstop to finish it Have to say the ending was a bit of a let down after the rest of the book, seemed quite cut off and too harsh Other than the ending I d say this was a perfect read for a winter Greatly enjoyed the characters and tone of the book The story was very original at first but devolved into something common Still giving this five stars as it was one A fully en [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *