The Magnolia Story

This eBook includes the full text of the book plus

You are here: Home - Books - The Red Address Book


The Red Address Book

The Red Address Book By Sofia Lundberg The Red Address Book For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about year old Doris who writes down the memories

  • Title: The Red Address Book
  • Author: Sofia Lundberg
  • ISBN: 07896284
  • Page: 347
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • The Red Address Book By Sofia Lundberg For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96 year old Doris, who writes down the memories of her eventful life as she pages through her decades old address book But the most profound moment of her life is still to come Meet Doris, a 96 year old woman living alone in her For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96 year old Doris, who writes down the memories of her eventful life as she pages through her decades old address book But the most profound moment of her life is still to come Meet Doris, a 96 year old woman living alone in her Stockholm apartment She has few visitors, but her weekly Skype calls with Jenny her American grandniece, and her only relative give her great joy and remind her of her own youth When Doris was a girl, she was given an address book by her father, and ever since she has carefully documented everyone she met and loved throughout the years Looking through the little book now, Doris sees the many crossed out names of people long gone and is struck by the urge to put pen to paper In writing down the stories of her colorful past working as a maid in Sweden, modelling in Paris during the 30s, fleeing to Manhattan at the dawn of the Second World War can she help Jenny, haunted by a difficult childhood, unlock the secrets of their family and finally look to the future And whatever became of Allan, the love of Doris s life A charming novel that prompts reflection on the stories we all should carry to the next generation, and the surprises in life that can await even the oldest among us, The Red Address Book introduces Sofia
    The Red Address Book By Sofia Lundberg

    The Red Address Book Lundberg The Red Address Book is just the sort of easy reading tale that will inspire readers to pull up a comfy chair to the fire, grab a mug of cocoa and a box of tissues and get hygge with it Helen Simonson, New York Times Book Review Written with love, told with joy Very easy to enjoy Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called Ove The Red Address Book HMH Books The Red Address Book is a love letter to the human heart Full of tenderness and empathy, Lundberg has created than just a novel she has created a window into the soul Alyson Richman, internationally bestselling author of The Lost Wife and The Velvet Hours The Red Address Book by Sofia Lundberg, Paperback Barnes Sep , The Red Address Book is a love letter to the human heart Full of tenderness and empathy, Lundberg has created than just a novel she has created a window into the soul Alyson Richman, internationally bestselling author of The Lost Wife and The Velvet Hours The Red Address Book by Sofia Lundberg The Red Address Book by Sofia Lundberg is a novel about a year old woman s,Doris, life story It is in her red address book, the names of people who are either in her life or dead because she out lived them Fredrik Backman, A Man Called Ove, wrote written with love, told with joy, very easy to enjoy. The Red Address by David Ives The Red Address book Read reviews from the world s largest community for readers Book by David Ives The Red Address Book Kindle edition by Lundberg, Sofia The Red Address Book is a love letter to the human heart Full of tenderness and empathy, Lundberg has created than just a novel she has created a window into the soul Alyson Richman, internationally bestselling author of The Lost Wife and The Velvet Hours THE RED ADDRESS BOOK Reading Group Choices The Red Address Book is a best book club book for discussion, a debut novel about the stories we carry to the next generation and the surprises in life that await us Recommending new books each month to spark lively conversation. Book Review The Red Address Book by Sofia Lundberg So begins Sofia Lundberg s The Red Address Book, with a very fragile Doris recalling a life with people long dead We start in Stockholm, when Doris is only years old, and move on to her days as a model in Paris in the s, then to New York City, where she hopes to reunite with the love of her life. The Red Address Variety Mix Glengarry Glen Ross with Glen or Glenda and the result might be something like David Ives The Red Address A tough talking drama that mixes business sharks, blackmail, cross dressing The Red Address Book by Sofia Lundberg Excerpt The old red leather address book, its bent corners revealing the yellowed paper within She arranges everything carefully, in the middle of the kitchen table They have to be lined up just so No creases on the neatly ironed baby blue linen tablecloth.

    • ✓ The Red Address Book ↠ Sofia Lundberg
      347 Sofia Lundberg

    One thought on “The Red Address Book

    1. Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader on said:

      4 nostalgic stars Oh, this book is quite lovely and nostalgic Doris is 96 years old and lives alone in Stockholm, Sweden She s a bit of a recluse but looks forward to her weekly Skype calls with Jenny, her only relative and grandniece who lives in the United States Doris has a special address book she was gifted by her father when she was a child In it, she has documented the names and addresses of everyone she s known throughout her life She crosses out the names when people have passed aw 4 no [...]

    2. Angela M on said:

      3.5 stars Doris is of one of the people that the author dedicates this book to and also the name of the central character So of course I was curious to know the connection In a conversation with Sofia Lundberg on the book description, she talks about her great Aunt Doris, whose address book she found after her beloved aunt died Most of the names in the book were crossed out with the word dead next to them That this book is based on that makes the story certainly meaningful and th 3.5 stars Doris [...]

    3. Jenny on said:

      Let me start with a little backstory I love Christmas cards I love sending them and I love receiving them Some are shared family updates from the past year, pictures or just a simple signature on a beautiful Christmas card What I also love are the memories of my Mother and Grandmother pulling out their address books from the cabinet, sitting at the table and one by one addressing dozens of cards to family, friends and neighbors.My Mom s book was a light blue leather with two simple gold band Let [...]

    4. Katie B on said:

      3.5 starsI m a sucker for these books that feature an elderly character who decides to reflect back on their life This one had a unique premise as a woman s address book was used to help tell the story While this book had a bit of charm it also packed an emotional punch in ways I wasn t expecting.Ninety six year old Doris doesn t have much contact with the outside world and therefore looks forward to her weekly Skype sessions with her grandniece, Jenny Doris s father gave her an address book 3.5 [...]

    5. Jenny on said:

      Let me start with a little backstory I love Christmas cards I love sending them and I love receiving them Some are shared family updates from the past year, pictures or just a simple signature on a beautiful Christmas card What I also love are the memories of my Mother and Grandmother pulling out their address books from the cabinet, sitting at the table and one by one addressing dozens of cards to family, friends and neighbors.My Mom s book was a light blue leather with two simple gold band Let [...]

    6. Cheri on said:

      Where ve you been I ve looked for you forever and a day Where ve you been I m just not myself when you re away Where ve You Been, Kathy Mattea, Songwriters Don Henry Jon Vezner So many names pass by us in a lifetime Have you ever thought about that, Jenny All the names that come and go That rip our hearts to pieces and make us shed tears That become lovers or enemies I leaf through my address book sometimes It has become something like a map of my life, and I want to tell you < [...]

    7. Erin on said:

      Thanks to Netgalley and Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for an e ARC in exchange for an honest review I am not going to lie to any of you this rating is totally influenced by my emotions Although I like to play my cards close and portray myself as a cynic, Swedish author Sofia Lundberg s Doris squirmed her way into my heart Just how do the Swedish keep doing this to me looking at you, Fredrik Backman The greatest comfort in life comes from freely expressing one s opinion and being m Thanks to Netgalle [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *