The Magnolia Story

This eBook includes the full text of the book plus

You are here: Home - Books - Josephine Baker's Last Dance


Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Josephine Baker's Last Dance By Sherry Jones Josephine Baker s Last Dance From the author of The Jewel of Medina a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hid

  • Title: Josephine Baker's Last Dance
  • Author: Sherry Jones
  • ISBN: 1501102443
  • Page: 435
  • Format: Paperback
  • Josephine Baker's Last Dance By Sherry Jones From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicat From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a equitable world in Josephine Baker s Last Dance In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine s early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today Get A Copy Kindle Store StoresAudibleBarnes NobleWalmart eBooksApple BooksGoogle PlayAbebooksBook DepositoryIndigoAlibrisBetter World BooksIndieBoundLibraries Or buy for Paperback, 372 pages Published December 4th 2018 by Gallery Boo
    Josephine Baker's Last Dance By Sherry Jones

    Josephine Baker s Last Dance Josephine Baker s Last Dance is a bold and beautiful book about a bold and beautiful life This book left its mark on me Susan Crandall, author of The Myth of Perpetual Summer The mesmerizing chanteuse who shattered race barriers and hearts across the world is brought to vivid, unstoppable life in Josephine Baker s Last Dance The champagne swirl of the Jazz Age fuels this amazing, untold Josephine Baker s Last Dance by Sherry Jones Josephine Baker s Last Dance by Sherry Jones is a Gallery Books publication I have walked into the palaces of kings and queens and into the houses of presidents And much But I could not walk into a hotel in America and get a cup of coffee, and that made me mad And when I get mad, you know that I open my big mouth. Josephine Baker s Last Dance by Sherry Jones, Paperback Dec , From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a equitable world in Josephine Baker Josephine Baker s Last Dance Book by Sherry Jones From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a equitable world in Josephine Baker

    • Unlimited Josephine Baker's Last Dance - by Sherry Jones
      435 Sherry Jones

    One thought on “Josephine Baker's Last Dance

    1. Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader on said:

      4 engaging stars to Josephine s Last Dance Oh, how I enjoyed this look into Josephine Baker s life What an icon she was and continues to be with her legacy Who was Josephine Baker What defines her the most Singer Dancer Actor Civil Rights activist She even joined the French Resistance during WWII Josephine s early life is marred by poverty and living in servitude Her mother sends her out of the home as a servant while still a child living in St Louis Josephine endures abuse 4 engaging stars to J [...]

    2. Mats Werner on said:

      Josephine Baker was during some ten years before her premature death in 1975, a very dear friend of mine and also of our family.The loss of Josephine at the treshold of new adventures, after some years when she was or less forgotten and out , when as an extra burden her money problem caused her great distress, was deeply felt.In Stockholm, one of her regular tour stops , she had enormous successes during so many years starring with a large entourage on the most important show stages Josephine Ba [...]

    3. Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads) on said:

      I must say I didn t know very much about Josephine Baker It wasn t until I read the short children s picture book biography in the Little People, Big Dreams series to my daughter that I learned she wasn t just an entertainer but a woman who fought for Civil Rights equality and joined the French Resistance to destroy Hitler during World War II.The short children s biography was so brief and yet I was fascinated When I found Josephine Baker s Last Dance on NetGalley earlier this year, I absolu I m [...]

    4. Melanie on said:

      Why read a fictional biography Sometimes, there is no choice biographies may be out of date, or nonexistent When they are available, they may be too linear to capture than the facts, just the facts, ma am.There are biographies of Josephine Baker, the Black Pearl, if the reader wants to know who, what where, and when I doubt there ever will be one that captures the wild energy, the passionate spirit, and the artistry that came together in this spectacular woman the way Sherry Jones has Why read a [...]

    5. Irene on said:

      This was a riveting, well researched, fact based though slightly embellished account of the life of Josephine Baker from her childhood and beyond her rise to fame, becoming the highest paid black performer in the world Since Josephine is no longer with us to be able to share her intimate thoughts, there was a good mix of story telling and facts It held me captivated from start to finish as Josephine grew from a poverty stricken neglected child to a strong willed woman who stood along side MLK Th [...]

    6. Tammy on said:

      Josephine Baker s Last Dance was an entertaining and captivating read Josephine Baker withstood so many obstacles in her life and those obstacles shaped her Racism, segregation, poverty and sexual abuse The author brought Josephine to life, showing us the real woman behind the public persona I thoroughly enjoyed this one

    7. Sherry on said:

      While creating this book, I fell utterly in love with Josephine Baker, as did everyone who ever knew her Langston Hughes Bessie Smith Hemingway Colette The King of Sweden The Pasha of Marrakesh The Prince of England Louis Armstrong Grace Kelly Mick Jagger The list goes on and on, and the reasons why become clear when you read JOSEPHINE BAKER S LAST DANCE When I finished it after four years research and writing I wanted to do it all again, just to remain in Ms Baker s bedazzling c While creating [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *